Great Wood School

"Aim high... and make a difference"

Beaufort Road, Morecambe, LA4 6UB
01524 416971
office@greatwood.lancs.sch.uk

English Activities

A information book about Covid 19  to read online or download explaining the coronavirus to children, illustrated by Gruffalo illustrator Axel Scheffler. 
Coronavirus – A book for Children

Stories for watching and listening.

https://literacytrust.org.uk/family-zone/

https://www.oliverjeffers.com/books#/abookaday/

https://www.worldofdavidwalliams.com/elevenses/

Stories – https://stories.audible.com/discovery

Julia Donaldson animated tales – https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p06vkmht

Cbeebies Radio https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio
Listening activities for the younger ones.

stories.audible.com

Reading and reading activities

Lots of activities  https://www.worldbookday.com/

Phonics Play – https://www.phonicsplay.co.uk

https://www.teachyourmonstertoread.com/ teach your Monster to read

http://www.pobble365.com/ – a new picture is shared each day to provoke discussion, debate or writing ideas. Aimed more at KS2.

https://spellingframe.co.uk/ – spelling activities with specialist resources for each year group. Requires payment if you want to play the games.

Reading and reading activities

http://myths.e2bn.org/mythsandlegends/ – vast online store of animated comic strips tracking legends and myths from across the world.

https://subscribe.firstnews.co.uk/free-downloadable-issue/ – free online digital download of a specialist children’s newspaper.

https://thereadingrealm.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/The-Nature-and-Animal-Realm-1.pdf – downloadable reading activity pack.

https://www.literacyshed.com/home.html – Scroll past the invitations to subscribe to reach a large range of free videos and short films that are then supported by questions and tasks underneath.

Oxford Owl for Home https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/ Lots of free resources for Primary age

Rainbow Fairies Rainbow Magic – https://www.scholastic.com/rainbowmagic/game/

Book suggestion websites

https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/find-a-book/library-page/ – Oxford Owls online ebooks and activities

The Roald Dahl website – https://www.roalddahl.com/

The Lemony Snicket website – https://www.lemonysnicket.com/

Beast Quest website – https://beast-quest.com/

100 best books for children – https://www.booktrust.org.uk/books-and-reading/our-recommendations/100-best-books/

The Gruffalo website – https://www.gruffalo.com/